Whimsical Website Club

The web needs to take itself less seriously. It's barely out of its twenties and suddenly it's all like "I can't make fansites for hippos anymore, I have businesses to run".

It used to be cooler. It used to be weirder.

As Sarah Drasner puts it in “In Defense of a Fussy Website”:

While we’re all laser-focused on shipping the newest feature with the hottest software and the best Lighthouse scores, I’ve been missing a bit of the joy on the web. Apps are currently conveying little care for UX, guidance, richness, and — well, for humans trying to communicate through a computer, we’re certainly bending a lot to… the computer.

I really liked that post, so I made small website meant to showcase how a more personal web could look like, and hopefully give someone else inspiration to make their own corner of the web a bit weirder.

# More whimsy, please!

The Whimsical Web

Introducing: The Whimsical Web - a curated list of sites with an extra bit of fun.

I’ve collected a few of my favorites to start, but anyone can add a site to the list if it’s fun, quirky and personal.
Just open an issue on Github and let me know.

Let’s see some fussy websites!

Webmentions

What’s this?

No webmentions yet.